After a DWI arrest, you need the aggressive protection provided by the Law Office of Barry Klopfer PC. When you contact our office, we help you to minimize any potential penalties your DWI may carry. Don’t delay. When you are arrested for a DWI, call us immediately to speak to a qualified DUI lawyer. Dial (505) 722-9331 during business hours, or click the button below to fill an information intake form NOW:Facing DWI or other criminal charges? Click here to complete an intake form NOW
Steps You Need To Immediately Follow if Charged With DWI in New Mexico
Arrested for a DWI, Now What?
A NM attorney understands that being arrested for a DWI is stressful. Being pulled over by a police officer and put into the back of a police car is very humiliating. However, never forget that even when you are arrested for a DWI, you still have rights. It is important that you take steps to protect your rights. As soon as possible, contact a New Mexico DWI lawyer.
Avoid answering questions that might incriminate you. The Fifth Amendment gives you the right to be silent. You are under no legal obligation and there are no DWI laws that force you to admit involvement in illegal activities. Don’t mention that you had an alcoholic beverage. Immediately request legal counsel from a NM attorney, but do so in a polite way.
Field Sobriety Test
The National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration approves of three field sobriety tests. They are the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, the one leg stand, and the walk and turn. These must be administered in harmony with NHTSA guidelines. If you feel that you are too intoxicated to pass a field sobriety test, politely decline taking the test. Never attempt to take a field sobriety test if you are intoxicated. If you fail, this will be used against you in court. Immediately request counsel from a New Mexico DWI lawyer.
A breathalyzer test can either help your case or it can hurt your case. If you know you are intoxicated, politely refuse to take the test. Negative test results will be used against you in court. As soon as possible, contact DWI lawyers in Gallup NM who can help you with your case.
When to Call a DWI Attorney in New Mexico
The sooner you contact DWI lawyers, the sooner you have a lawyer fighting for you. It is important to get in touch with a DWI attorney immediately after you are arrested. From the moment you contact them, your New Mexico DWI attorney will start building a drunk driving defense for you.
Immediately document in writing the details associated with your arrest. Do this while the events are still clear in your mind. DWI lawyers in Gallup NM will use this information to help you build your case.
Request a MVD hearing. This request is time sensitive. In the state of New Mexico, you only have 10 days to take steps to protect your right to drive. Sending a revocation hearing request in writing along with a $25 check or money order will start the process that may help you keep your driver’s license. Contact us after you take this step and we will defend you at the MVD hearing. We will fight side-by-side with you to help you retain your driving privileges.
Mr. Klopfer has seen through his years of experience as a New Mexico DWI attorney the overwhelmingly emotional experience being charged with a DWI can be. For that reason, we are here to help. From the moment you get in contact with our law office, we are aggressively and tenaciously working to build a powerful defense for you.
According to New Mexico DWI laws, there are certain steps that you must take if you are arrested for DWI. Many of these steps are time sensitive. Our law office will work with guiding you through the steps in a way that will help you maintain your dignity. Call our law office today to discuss your situation and see what we can do to help.Facing DWI or other criminal charges? Click here to complete an intake form NOW